Rugby World Cup final: Brodie Retallick replaces Sam Whitelock for All Blacks against South Africa

Brodie Retallick running with the ball for New Zealand
Lock Brodie Retallick will win his 109th Test cap when he starts for New Zealand against South Africa
Venue: Stade de France, Paris Date: Saturday, 28 October Kick-off: 20:00 BST
Coverage: Commentary on BBC Radio 5 Live, plus text updates on the BBC Sport website and app

Lock Brodie Retallick replaces Sam Whitelock as New Zealand make one change to their starting side for the World Cup final against South Africa.

Whitelock will become the first man to play in three World Cup finals if he comes off the bench.

Brothers Scott, Jordie and Beauden Barrett retain their places in the starting XV from the side that cruised past Argentina in the semi-finals.

The All Blacks, like the Springboks, are chasing a record fourth title.

Will Jordan continues on the wing and can set a new record for the most tries at a single tournament if he adds to his tally of eight.

He has scored in his past four World Cup games and can also draw level with All Blacks legend Jonah Lomu as the only player to score in five matches in a row.

The only other change comes on the bench as Nepo Laulala replaces Fletcher Newell among the replacements.

Centurions Retallick, Whitelock, Aaron Smith, Sam Cane and Beauden Barrett are the five survivors in the matchday squad from New Zealand’s last triumph in the 2015 final.

New Zealand will be looking to avenge their 35-7 record defeat by the Springboks at Twickenham before they travelled to France for the tournament.

Defending champions South Africa have made two changes to the XV that started their semi-final win over England, with half-backs Faf de Klerk and Handre Pollard replacing Cobus Reinach and Manie Libbok.

With 987 caps among their XV, South Africa have named the most experienced Boks team ever, while New Zealand’s side boasts 981 caps.

Table of Contents


New Zealand XV: B Barrett; Jordan, Ioane, J Barrett, Telea; Mo’unga, Smith; De Groot, Taylor, Lomax, Retallick, S Barrett, Frizell, Cane (capt), Savea.

Replacements: Taukei’aho, Williams, Laulala, Whitelock, Papalii, Christie, McKenzie, Lienert-Brown.

South Africa: Willemse; Arendse, Kriel, De Allende, Kolbe; Pollard, De Klerk; Kitshoff, Mbonambi, Malherbe, Etzebeth, Mostert, Kolisi (capt), Du Toit, Vermeulen.

Replacements: Fourie, Nche, Nyakane, Kleyn, Snyman, Smith, Wiese, Le Roux.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)

Across the BBC bannerAcross the BBC footer

Source: BBC News

Previous Post

Olympiakos 2-1 West Ham: Kostas Fortounis strike and Angelo Ogbonna own goal consign Irons to defeat

Next Post

Online Safety Bill: divisive internet rules become law

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *