Argentina 6-44 New Zealand: All Blacks cruise into record fifth final

Breaking news

Argentina: (6) 6
Pen: Boffelli 2
New Zealand: (20) 44
Tries: Jordan 3, J Barrett, Frizell 2, Smith Con: Mo’unga 3 Pen: Mo’unga

Will Jordan scored an impressive hat-trick as seven-try New Zealand crushed Argentina at Stade de France to reach a record fifth Rugby World Cup final.

The three-time winners were disciplined in defence and ruthless in attack as Jordan, Jordie Barrett and Shannon Frizell scored first-half tries.

Aaron Smith added a fourth after the break before Frizell crossed again and Jordan became the leading try scorer.

The All Blacks will face either South Africa or England in next week’s final.

Argentina, playing in their third World Cup semi-final, saw lots of the ball in the opening stages without penetrating the New Zealand defence.

Michael Cheika’s side were limited to two Emiliano Boffelli penalties as the All Blacks soaked up the early pressure before cutting loose on the counter-attack.

The All Blacks could have surpassed their own record for the biggest winning margin in a World Cup semi-final late on, but Richie Mo’unga spurned the opportunity.

The fly-half could have thrown a simple pass for Jordan to score a fourth try, which would have levelled the 43 point difference in the 1987 win over Wales with a conversion to come, but he opted to carry the ball into contact himself.

The Pumas will have the chance to equal their best ever finish from the last time the tournament was staged in France in 2007 with victory in the third/fourth place play-off, against the loser from the other semi-final.

New Zealand, meanwhile, could become the most successful nation in World Cup history with a fourth title when they return to the Stade de France next weekend.

More to follow.

Table of Contents


Argentina: Mallia; Boffelli, Cinti, Chocobares, M Carreras; S Carreras, Bertranou; Gallo, Montoya (capt), Gomez Kodela, Petti, Lavanini, Gonzalez, Kremer, Isa.

Replacements: Creevy, Sclavi, Bello, Alemanno, Bruni, Bazan Velez, Sanchez, Moroni.

New Zealand: B Barrett; Jordan, Ioane, J Barrett, Telea; Mo’unga, Smith; De Groot, Taylor, Lomax, Whitelock, S Barrett, Frizell, Cane (capt), Savea.

Replacements: Taukei’aho, Williams, Newell, Retallick, Papalii, Christie, McKenzie, Lienert-Brown.

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)

Source: BBC News

Previous Post

Storm Babet: Second red alert in a week as flooding rages on

Next Post

United States Grand Prix: Max Verstappen tops practice before qualifying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *